How to win the 2016 National Novel Contest

It’s a little known fact that the first prize in the National Novel Writing Contest is the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

And there are plenty of writers who are on the short list to receive it.

But, like the Pulitzer, it’s the first one, which means that the winners are guaranteed to be the most popular fiction writers, even if they’re not on the Pulitzer’s short list. 

The Pulitzer is one of the prizes that the National Library of America (NLA) offers, but the other two prizes are: The National Book Award for Nonfiction (which is the same as the Pulitzer) and the National Medal of Arts. 

In the Pulitzer Prizes, which are presented annually, the winners of the Pulitzer and National Book awards are announced in January and then announced in May, with the National Book and National Medal winners announced in June and the others announced in September. 

A Pulitzer Prize winner is eligible for a number of prizes, including a book of fiction, a collection of short stories, or a memoir.

The National Book Prize, on the other hand, is awarded only to writers who receive the Pulitzer for nonfiction. 

It was awarded in 1935 to the novelist William Faulkner, who won it in the category of fiction. 

Faulkner won the Pulitzer in 1936 for his book of poetry, O Brother, Where Art Thou?

He had written it before the war, but it was never published.

In 1938, Faulkter’s widow, Rosemary, was awarded the Pulitzer. 

And in 1959, George Plimpton won the prize for his novel, The Sun Also Rises. 

Plimpton had previously won the National Poetry Award for his Pulitzer Prize-winning book, A New World, published in 1938. 

This is a list of the winners. 


William Faulks The Sun Also Raises (1938) Fulks first published the novel in 1936 and won it the Pulitzer three years later for O. Henry, the first novel in the Omnibus Series.

The novel became a best seller, and it has been adapted for television, stage and screen. 


James Joyce The Dead Letter (1939) This novel, a novel of fiction set in the American Midwest during the 1930s, was also adapted for TV and stage. 


Charles Dickens The Grapes of Wrath (1941) After winning the Pulitzer with his first novel, The Waste Land, the author also won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1940. 


H.G. Wells The Island of Doctor Moreau (1942) The American Civil War novel was adapted for stage, and was also published as a stage play. 



A., A. N. Stirling The Time Machine (1943) In 1941, B. T. S. Eliot published A. A..


, which was one of the most influential novels in the history of literature. 


E. L. Doctorow The Graping of Arthur by Sea (1946) A novel that has been translated into twenty-five languages, Doctorow’s novel was published in 1959, the same year as the Nobel. 



R Tolkien The Lord of the Rings (1953) W.W. Norton won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1957. 


Philip Roth The Name of the Rose (1955) Another of Doctorow’s novels,  The Name of The Rose was adapted into a stage show, and the William Goldman Award was given to the author for his best novel. 


John Grisham The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1957) Grisham won the second Pulitzer Prize in 1957, for The Wind in the Willows. 


Ursula K. Le Guin The Dispossessed (1960) Le Guin won the Hugo Award for best short story in 1963 for her The Dispossessions. 


Urs van der Linden The Jungle Book (1964) Van der Lindeens debut novel was based on the book The Little White Lies of A.A. Milne. 


Jodi Picoult The Pale King (1964-65) Picoult won the Nebula Award in 1966 for her novel, which she wrote while living in New York. 


Margaret Atwood The Handmaid’s Tale (1966) Atwood won the Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1967 for her debut novel, but she didn’t win the Nobel for fiction.

Back To Top